Blame is a tricky game.
It doesn’t usually lead
to the truth
it would
have you believe.

You did this to me.
You are to blame.

What does this serve?
Who does this serve?

Yes, I have been victim
to the abuse of others.
Yes, I have blamed them
for my abuse.
Yet I’ve seen blame held fast
to the chest
of the broken hearted.
I’ve seen it eat at wounds
like acid
I’ve seen a person
fail and fail
and fall and fall
And learn nothing.
When led by blame.
I have done this myself.

Release it.
Release blame.
We are taught forgiveness
I think
Because blame is poison.
Blame erodes
our sense of self
sovereignty
Personhood.
We rob ourselves of a clear picture
of self
when we give our power
away in blame.

Take responsibility
It seems counter intuitive
when we have been hurt
deeply
truly
But blame is not here to serve us
Blame is here to blind us.
It is a half truth.
Become whole.
Release blame.

-Angel Marie Russell

Please consider making a donation:
